Skip to content

Summit 2019


Let’s explore the community solutions helping make our cities better places to live, work, play and thrive. Join international and national leaders in city building and innovation at the 2019 Future Cities Canada Summit.

Many more to come, check back often for updates!

Keynote Speakers

Gabriella Gomez-Mont, Founder of Laboratorio para la Ciudad

Gabriella Gomez-Mont was the founder of Laboratorio para la Ciudad, the award-winning experimental arm of the Mexico City government. She now directs Experimentalista, a new type of nomadic and creative office that specializes in cities and constantly shifts shape to accommodate high-level, transdisciplinary collaborations across the world.


Bruce Katz, Founding Director, Nowak Metro Finance Lab, Drexel University

Bruce Katz is the Founding Director of the Nowak Metro Finance Lab at Drexel University in Philadelphia. Previously he served as inaugural Centennial Scholar at Brookings Institution and as vice president and director of Brooking’s Metropolitan Policy Program for 20 years.



Vidhya Alakeson headshot

Vidhya Alakeson, Chief Executive of Power to Change

Ken Coates

Ken Coates, Canada Research Chair in Regional Innovation

Carol Colletta headshot

Carol Coletta, President & CEO, Memphis River Parks Partnership

Adil Dhalla, Civic Entrepreneur & Community Organizer

Ashley Good headshot

Ashley Good, CEO and Founder, Fail Forward

James Hardy headshot

James Hardy, Deputy Mayor & Chief of Staff, City of Akron

Lisa Helps headshot

Mayor Lisa Helps, City of Victoria

Stephen Huddart headshot

Stephen Huddart, President & CEO, The McConnell Foundation

John Lorinc headshot

John Lorinc, Journalist, Author & Editor

Bridget Marquis, Director, Civic Commons Learning Network

Dave Meslin headshot

Dave Meslin, Activist and Author

Rodney Small headshot

Rodney Small, Director, One North End Community Economic Development Society

Barbara Swartzentruber headshot

Barbara Swartzentruber, Executive Director, Smart Cities

For any questions regarding the Future Cities Canada Summit, please email